1. What is the full form of ISRO?

Ans – ISRO Stands for Indian Space Research Organisation.

2. Who is considered as the “founding father” of Indian Space


Ans – Dr Vikram A Sarabhai is considered as the founding father of

space programmes in India.

3. When was ISRO formed?

Ans – ISRO was formed on August 15, 1969.

4. When was Department of Space constituted?

Ans – Department of Space (DOS) and the Space Commission were set

up in 1972. ISRO was brought under DOS on June 1, 1972.

5. What is the main objective of ISRO?

  1. Ans – The prime objective of ISRO is to develop space technology and its application to various national needs.  

6. How these Objectives are met?

Ans – ISRO has established two major space systems, INSAT for communication, television broadcasting and meteorological services,  and Indian Remote Sensing Satellites (IRS) system for resources  monitoring and management. ISRO has developed two satellite  launch vehicles, PSLV and GSLV, to place INSAT and IRS satellites in  the required orbits.

7. Where the Satellites are made?

Ans – Satellites are made at ISRO Satellite Centre (ISAC), Bangalore.

8. Where the Rockets / Launch vehicles are made?

Ans – Rockets / Launch Vehicles are made at Vikram Sarabhai Space

Centre (VSSC), Thiruvanathapuram.

9. From where are the rockets launched?

Ans – ISRO’s Launch facility is located at SDSC SHAR from where

Launch Vehicles and Sounding Rockets are launched. Sounding rockets

are also launched from TERLS at Thiruvananthapuram.

10. Where the Space Programme began in India?

Ans – Indian Space Programme began at Thumba Equatorial Rocket

Launching Station (TERLS) located at Thumba near


11. Why was Thumba selected for being rocket launching station?

. Ans – The geomagnetic equator of the earth passes over Thumba

12. What is the expansion of VSSC and when it was formed?

Ans – Space Science and Technology Centre (SSTC) was renamed as

Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC) in 1972 in honor of Dr Vikram

Sarabahi who met with his untimely demise on December 30, 1971.

13. When, and from where, Chandrayaan-1 was launched?

Ans – Chandrayaan-1 was launched on October 22, 2008 from Satish

Dhawan Space Centre at Sriharikota (SHAR), India.

14. How long Chandrayaan-1 was operational?

Ans – Chandrayaan-1 was operational for 312 days till August 28,


15. Who is the present chairman of ISRO?

Ans – K. Sivan is the present chairman of ISRO.

16. Where is the headquarters of ISRO?

Ans – The Secretariat of Department of Space (DOS) and ISRO

Headquarters are located at Antariksh Bhavan in Bangalore.

17. Who is the first chairman of ISRO?

Ans – Vikram Sarabhai is the first chairman of ISRO.

18. Which was the first satellite launched by ISRO?

Ans – Kalpana-1 was the first dedicated meteorological satellite

launched by Indian Space Research Organisation using Polar Satellite

Launch Vehicle on 2002-09-12.

19. What is the name of first satellite built by India?

Ans – Aryabhata. ISRO built India’s first satellite, Aryabhata, which

was launched by the Soviet Union on 19 April 1975.

20. What is full form of GSLV?

Ans – Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle.

error: Content is protected !!